Latvian Curling Association


The Latvian Curling Association was founded in February 2001 and became a member of the WCF in December 2001. A year later, in March 2002, ten teams took part in the very first Latvian National Curling Championships.

The sport continued to grow in the country, signalled by the Latvian men’s team bronze medal in the B Group of the European Curling Championship in December 2007. But it wasn't until two years later, in October 2009, that the first dedicated curling facility with two sheets of ice, was opened in Riga.

In December 2009, the Latvian Women’s team won gold in the European Curling Championship B Group and won the final European Zone challenge place for the 2010 Ford World Women’s Curling Championship in Swift Current, Canada.

The following year, in November 2010, the first Latvian wheelchair curling team competed at the World Wheelchair Curling Championship Qualification event in Finland.

A month later, the Latvian Women’s team competed in the European Championship A Group for the first time and the Men’s team won silver in the B Group.

2011 saw both the men's and women's teams compete in the A group at the Le Gruyere European Curling Championships (Moscow, Russia) for the first time in Latvian history.

As host of the World Women's Curling Championship 2013, the Latvian women's team is guaranteed a place where they will be able to test themselves against the world's best female curlers.

At present, there are currently 150 registered curlers in Latvia and one dedicated, two sheet curling facility in Riga. Curling also takes place in ice arenas elsewhere in Riga, Ozolnieki, Talsi, Ventspils and Jelgava.

Share this page

More Information

Title Sponsor
Presenting Sponsor
Main Sponsors
Official WCF Suppliers